Political News

APC candidate declared winner of Kwara Bye-election held yesterday

Raheem Olawuyi, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), emerged winner of the Ekiti/Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero Federal Constituency bye-election held on Saturday in Kwara State.

According to Prof. Abimbola Adesoji, the returning officer for the election, the APC candidate got 21,236 votes to defeat his closest rival, Saheed Damilare, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who got 18,095 votes.

The total number of registered voters is 168,707, accredited voters are 41,185, total valid votes is 39, 599, rejected votes are 1,331 and total number of votes cast is 40,930.

Consequently, the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, prof. declared Olawuyi winner having polled the highest numbers of votes.

Here’s how Senate President Bukola Saraki reacted to the election;

“We thank the people of Ekiti/Oke Ero/Isin/Irepodun who came out to vote today — defying the heavy intimidation and the siege laid by the security agents and thugs invited into the 4 LGAs by the APC.”

“The public should note that today’s #KwaraByElection was simply between PDP and security agents plus APC. This was due to the heavy deployment of police, soldiers and other security agents who gathered to support APC and harass PDP leaders and supporters,” Saraki said on twitter.

“This is the first time that elections in Kwara State will be held under such charged, tensed and militarised conditions. We had INEC officials complaining about their own safety — and PDP supporters were brazenly intimidated, which resulted in low turn out of voters.”

“It is important to reiterate that ahead of the 2019 elections, such open displays of intimidation are sending wrong signals. Our democracy is being undermined with this misuse of our nation’s security apparatus.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Latest News

To Top