Political News

INEC declares APC’s Oyetola winner

Mr. Gboyega Oyetola, the candidate of the ruling APC in Osun State Governorship Election.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Gboyega Oyetola, as the winner of the Osun State Governorship Election.

Oyetola was returned governor-elect following Thursday’s re-run election which was held in seven polling units across 4 local government areas in the state.

The candidate of the APC won in 6 of the 7 polling units in the rerun election which was marred with irregularities, harassment of voters and other forms of malpractice.

Oyetola defeated the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Ademola Adeleke, who was leading the APC candidate with 353 votes in the initial election held last Saturday.

A rerun election was however arranged by INEC since the margin between the PDP and APC candidate in the initial election was below the number of cancelled votes.

Oyetola scored a total of 255,505 votes while the candidate of the PDP scored a total of 255,023 votes at the end of Thursday’s rerun.

The returning officer, Adeola Afuwape, announced Oyetola as winner this morning.

“That Gboyega Oyetola, having satisfied the requirement of the law and won the highest number of votes is hereby declared winner and returned elected,” he said.

The rerun election was marred by many ugly irregularities despite the huge deployment of security officials to the polling units. Political thugs reportedly working for the ruling party allegedly hijacked the process, and prevented opposition voters from exercising their rights.

The Centre for Democracy and Development (CDD), an observer groups in Nigeria, faulted the rerun election process.

“In the light of these anti-democratic acts, which have undermined the sanctity of the ballot therefore, we hold strongly the view that the re-run poll of Thursday, September 27, 2018 does not meet up with the minimum standards for free, fair and credible elections,” the CDD said in a report published by Premium Times.

Senator Ademola Adeleke voted at his polling unit Abogunde-Sagba at Ede North Local Government Area

Senator Ademola Adeleke voted at his polling unit Abogunde-Sagba at Ede North Local Government Area

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Latest News

To Top