Political News

INEC declares Osun Election “inconclusive”, Re-run election to be held on Thursday in Polling Units where elections were cancelled


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Osun State Governorship Election “inconclusive”.

Senator Ademola Adeleke, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), won majority votes of about 254,698, while the candidate of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Gboyega Oyetola, got 254,345 votes.

According to Joseph Fuwape, the presiding officer at the INEC headquarters in Osun, it is not possible to declare anybody winner of the election on the first ballot.

“Unfortunately as the returning officer, it’s not possible to declare anybody as the clear winner of the election on the first ballot,” Mr. Fuwape said.

He noted that the total registered voters in the 5 polling units where elections were cancelled is 3,498, which is bigger than the difference between the PDP candidate and the APC candidate, hence, a re-run election had to be conducted.

“I, Joseph Adeola Fuwape, hereby, declare this election inconclusive,” he said.

A re-run election would be held on Thursday in affected poll units in these Local Government Areas;

(1) Orolu LG – 947 voters (2) Ife South LG – 502voters (3) Ife North LG – 353voters (4) Osogbo LG – 884voters

Here is how the two candidates performed in these 4 LGAs

OROLU LGA: ADC – 79 ADP – 388 APC – 5,442 PDP – 7,776 SDP – 2,043

IFE South LGA: ADC – 136 ADP – 561 APC – 7,223 PDP – 4,872 SDP – 6,151

IFE NORTH LGA: ADC – 94 ADP – 745 APC – 6,527 PDP – 5,486 SDP – 5,158

OSOGBO LGA: ADC – 413 ADP – 2,478 APC – 23,379 PDP – 14,499 SDP – 10,188

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Latest News

To Top